Rugby League Betting


History of Rugby League

Rugby league is a sport played between two teams with thirteen players on each side. The sport was created in England in the late 1800s.
Since its conception there has been a deep rivalry with sport of rugby union. Rugby league is most popular in nations of Australia, New Zealand, England, Papua New Guinea as well as a host of Pacific Islander nations such as Samoa, Tonga and Fiji.
Rugby league is also played in France. In the upcoming Rugby League World Cup, nations such as Scotland, Lebanon, USA, Wales, Ireland and Italy will also be represented.

Points are scored in rugby league when a player carries the ball over the opposition try line and touches the surface of the ground with the ball. This is known as a ‘try’. Four points are awarded for tries in rugby league.

Following a ‘try’ being scored, one player from the try-scoring team is afforded the chance or ‘try’ to convert the 4-point try by kicking the ball from a still-position on the ground in between the uprights and above the cross bar of the goal. If the kick is successful, two points is added to the team points tally.

Teams are able to score a single point during general play but drop kicking the ball over crossbar and through the posts.
The main rugby league competitions in the world are the NRL in Australia & New Zealand and Super League in the UK. The current Super League champions are the Wigan Warriors who won their 4th title in 2017.

The current NRL premiers are the Cronulla Sharks who won their first title in the history of their club in 2016. The most successful club in NRL history are the South Sydney Rabbitohs with 21 premierships. They are followed by the St George Dragons (now St George Illawarra Dragons) with 15 titles including 11 in a row between 1956 and 1966. In recent years, Brisbane Broncos have been a powerhouse recording 6 premiership titles between 1992 and 2006. Other successful clubs in the last 20 years include North Queensland Cowboys, Sydney Roosters, Manly Sea Eagles, Wests Tigers, Canterbury Bulldogs and Newcastle Knights.
The Australian domestic leagues are New South Wales Cup and Queensland Cup. Many of the clubs in these competitions act as feeder clubs for teams in the National Rugby League.
Some great athletes have played the game of rugby league. The best rugby league players of all time have been inducted as ‘The Immortals’. There are a currently 8 Immortals to have been named. These are, Clive Churchill, Bob Fulton, Reg Gasnier, Johnny Raper, Graeme Langlands, Wally Lewis, Arthur Beetson and most recent inductee Andrew Johns. Some current NRL superstars include the likes of Cameron Smith, Jonathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Greg Inglis, James Tedesco, Darius Boyd, Jason Taumalolo and Shaun Johnson.

Rugby League Betting Options

There are plenty of option to bet on Rugby League. Punters often bet on the premiership winner market where the odds for the premiership can change dramatically throughout the season depending on the win/loss record of each team.
Each week BlueBet put up rugby league markets. Some of the most popular types for games are head to head betting, handicap betting and total points betting on the Rugby League.
For the NRL Grand Final the Clive Churchill medal winner is a poplar bet type. This is awarded to the player who is judged the best player of the Grand Final.


If you like betting on the AFL why don’t you give us a go at today!



It takes less than 2 minutes



It’s safe & secure



Great odds & Specials


Australian Rugby League Teams


Club Home Ground Capacity Established Titles
Brisbane Broncos Suncorp Stadium 52,500 1988 6
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs ANZ Stadium 84,000 1934 8
Canberra Raiders Canberra Stadium 25,000 1981 3
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Remondis Stadium 22,500 1963 1
Gold Coast Titans CBUS Super Stadium 27,400 2007 nil
Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles Brookvale Oval 23,000 1946 8
Melbourne Storm AAMI Park 30,050 1997 2
Newcastle Knights Hunter Stadium 33,000 1988 2
New Zealand Warriors Mount Smart Stadium 30,000 1995 nil
North Queensland Cowboys 1300SMILE Stadium 26,500 1995 1
Parramatta Eels ANZ Stadium 84,000 1946 4
Penrith Panthers Pepper Stadium 22,500 1966 2
South Sydney Rabbitohs ANZ Stadium 84,000 1908 21
St George Illawarra Dragons WIN Jubilee Oval 22,000 1998 1
Sydney Roosters Allianz Stadium 45,500 1908 13
Wests Tigers ANZ Stadium 84,000 1991 1

2022 NRL Grand Final Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Grand Final Preview   Penrith Panthers ($1.36) v Parramatta…

2022 NRL Finals Week 3 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Finals Week 3 Preview   It’s all or nothing this…

2022 NRL Finals Week 2 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Finals Week 2 Preview After one of the most exciting, intriguing…

2022 NRL Finals Week 1 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Finals Week One Preview After 25 rounds, the finals are…

2022 NRL Round 25 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Round 25 Preview The last round for season 2022 is upon…

2022 NRL Round 24 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Round 24 Preview With only two rounds left in season 2022,…

2022 NRL Round 23 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Round 23 Preview NRL continues in round 23 with some high…

2022 NRL Round 22 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Round 22 Preview Round 22 kicks off with a top 4 clash between…

2022 NRL Round 21 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Round 21 Preview As we head into the final rounds of the…

2022 NRL Round 20 Preview & Tips | BlueBet

NRL Round 20 Preview   After a week filled with many…